How does qualifying work that has been operating since 2006 in F1?

Q1: For the first 18 minutes, all 20 cars on the track try to set the fastest time. The slowest five cars are eliminated, earning the bottom grid positions. Drivers are allowed to complete as many laps as they want during this short space of time.

Q2: During the next 15 minutes of action, the 15 remaining cars do another round, their previous lap times having been cancelled. The slowest five cars are eliminated and take the grid positions 11 to 15. The remaining drivers progress through to the top 10, where pole position is decided.

Q3: Then in the last 12 minutes, the 10 last cars fight for the pole position, or No. 1 spot on the grid, and qualify no lower than 10th. The cars complete several laps of the tracks, usually completing two runs during the 10 minutes before the final grid is decided.

Formula 1 has also scrapped a long-standing requirement regarding tyre use for drivers starting a race from the top 10 positions. Formula 1 drivers who have qualified in the top 10 will no longer have to start the race on the tyres they used in the second part of qualifying.